December 3, 2007

Eco/People (December 03, 2007)

Kevin Jones, has been promoted to president and CEO of OCETA, the Ontario Centre for Environmental Technology Advancement, moving up from chief operating officer, a post he assumed earlier this year. He replaces Dr Ed Mallett, who was president and CEO since OCETA's inception in 1994 and will remain as a senior associate focusing on new business development. Jones has been with OCETA since 1997, and as vice-president for marketing and business development was very successful in extending OCETA's interests into new program areas such as industrial eco-efficiency and brownfield remediation.

Jacques Drouin has been appointed president, CEO and director of TORR Canada. Drouin, who was previously the company's senior vice-president and chief financial officer, is a former vice-president and director of Deloitte & Touche Finance Canada and has held other senior finance-related positions with KPMG and Nesbitt Thomson (now BMO Nesbitt Burns). He replaces Alain Ferland, who had led the company since early 2003 and has resigned as an officer and director. Ferland will assist Drouin until year-end to ensure a seamless transition. TORR Canada, based in Montreal, designs, develops, manufactures and commercializes technologies to separate oil, water and gas generated by oil and gas production. The company recently acquired Pure Group, a Norwegian company also specializing in technologies for oil, gas and water purification.

Ted Lattimore is the new CEO for Carmanah Technologies, a Victoria, BC-based company providing solar power systems and solar-powered LED lighting, and signs for a wide range of industrial, commercial and marine applications. Lattimore has over 20 years of entrepreneurial and executive experience in the mobile telecommunications industry, from its launch in Canada in 1985 to his most recent position as president and chief operating officer for Vodafone Romania (formerly Connex-MobiFon, part of Montreal-based TIW), a subsidiary of Vodafone Group Plc. He takes over from Art Aylesworth, who was the company's CEO since 2000 and has moved to the position of chairman of the board.

Maureen O'Neil, president of the International Development Research Centre (IDRC), has agreed to chair Export Development Canada (EDC)'s Advisory Council on Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) for a two-year term. She has been a member of the Council for one year. Three new members have also been appointed to the Advisory Council:

Dr Randy Gossen, vice-president, safety, environment and social responsibility at Nexen as well as current president of the World Petroleum Council and special advisor to the United Nations Global Compact;

Jean-Claude Villiard, an associate professor at the Ecole nationale d'administration publique, UniversitÈ du QuÈbec, who retired following a distinguished public service career during which he held high-level positions including senior advisor in the Privy Council Office and Deputy Minister of Industry Canada; and

Ed Waitzer, senior partner, and past chair of, the law firm Stikeman Elliott LLP. This summer, he was also appointed the Jarislowsky Dimma Mooney Chair in Corporate Governance at York University's Osgoode Hall Law School and the Schulich School of Business.

The new appointees replace retiring members Dezso Horvath, dean of York University's Schulich School of Business; Jean-Marie Toulouse, former director of the Ecole des Hautes Etudes Commerciales and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada; and Elizabeth Dowdeswell, former president of the Nuclear Waste Management Organization and previously executive director of the United Nations Environment Program.

The CSR Advisory Council is a core component of EDC's engagement with stakeholders. It meets semi-annually and provides advice on issues such as EDC's environmental review and disclosure practices, CSR and developing markets, support for environmental technologies and human rights. The Council's other current members are David Runnalls, president and CEO of the International Institute for Sustainable Development; and David Zussman, holder of the Jarislowsky Chair in Public Sector Management at the University of Ottawa a former dean of the University's School of Management.

Table of Contents  | Top of Page

  Ecolog Network