November 5, 2007

Eco/People (November 05, 2007)

Following re-election of Ontario's Liberal party, John Gerretsen is the province's new Environment Minister, replacing Laurel Broten in Premier Dalton McGuinty's new Cabinet. Gerretsen, MPP for Kingston and the Islands, previously served as Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing.

In other appointments, Donna Cansfield has been moved from Transportation to Natural Resources, while Gerry Phillips is the new Energy Minister, replacing Dwight Duncan who has been assigned the Finance portfolio. David Caplan remains as the Minister of Public Infrastructure Renewal.

In Newfoundland and Labrador, re-elected Premier Danny Williams has named Charlene Johnson that province's new Environment and Conservation Minister, replacing Clyde Jackman. Johnson holds degrees in forest engineering and environmental engineering and worked in these fields prior to entering politics in 2003.

Williams also appointed Kathy Dunderdale as Minister of Natural Resources, with responsibility for the Forestry and Agrifoods Agency. Dunderdale is a past president of the Newfoundland and Labrador Federation of Municipalities and has served as a director with the Canadian Federation of Municipalities.

Finally, in Nova Scotia, Premier Rodney MacDonald announced the re-naming of the Department of Transportation and Public Works. It is now the Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal, which the Premier said "better reflects the work of the department and the job ahead." He has appointed Murray Scott as Minister, with responsibility for the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency. Scott replaces Angus MacIsaac, who has been assigned the Economic Development portfolio.

Table of Contents  | Top of Page

  Ecolog Network