August 13, 2007

Alberta all-party committee review provincial beverage container recycling rules

The Alberta Legislative Assembly's all-party Standing Committee on Resources and Environment has begun a review of issues surrounding the province's beverage container recycling regulation. To enhance the transparency, openness and public accountability of the review process, the committee is inviting public input on issues such as the following.

*the adequacy of the existing beverage container collection system, i.e. whether there is a sufficient number of collection and whether additional collection options should be considered.

*whether the current exemption of milk containers should be maintained or whether these containers should be included in the deposit refund system;

*possible changes to deposit levels, including increasing current levels and/or setting higher deposits for large or oversize containers (i.e. 15-litre water bottles).

*whether the management of unredeemed deposits should be transferred from the manufacturer to the delegated administrative organization (currently the Beverage Container Management Board) or whether manufacturers should continue to manage these funds, and whether the regulation should stipulate how these deposits may be used.

*what direction should be given to the Delegated Administrative Organization concerning the administration of standards included in the bylaws, and whether there should there be a specific enforcement clause to deal with service quality.

*issues relating to two common collection agents, such as whether the number of common collection agents required be a business decision addressed in the bylaws rather than prescribed in the regulation.

The review will also cover other issues that may arise. Written submissions may be directed to the committee by August 24, 2007. More information about the committee and its review, including details about the submission process, is available from committee clerk Karen Sawchuk, 780/427-1350, or on-line at Submissions may be sent to Denis Ducharme, MLA for Bonnyville-Cold Lake, Chair of the Standing Committee on Resources and Environment, Legislature Office, #723 Legislature Annex, 9718 107 St, Edmonton, T5K 1E4, FAX 780/422-1671.

The 11-member Standing Committee on Resources and Environment is one of four all-party committees established by the Assembly this spring.

Table of Contents  | Top of Page

  Ecolog Network