May 9, 2005

Ottawa signs fifth climate change MOU with Nfld & Labrador

ST. JOHN'S, NFLD-The government of Newfoundland and Labrador has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on climate change with the federal government. In committing to work together to address climate change, the two governments have determined priority areas in which they can build partnerships and ensure a consistent, co-ordinated approach to climate change-related actions and initiatives. Newfoundland and Labrador is the fifth province or territory to sign this type of bilateral agreement on climate change with Ottawa. The MOU was signed by the provincial ministers of Environment and Conservation and of Natural Resources, Tom Osborne and Ed Byrne, respectively. Signing for the federal government were their counterparts, Environment Minister St√ąphane Dion and John Efford, Minister of Natural Resources Canada. Among the priority areas for co-operation in the agreement are research and development on climate change impacts, vulnerabilities and adaptation strategies, reducing greenhouse gas emissions through renewable and alternative energy development, energy management and efficiency in government facilities, municipal planning and solid waste management, and increasing public awareness and education of climate change and its impacts.

Table of Contents  | Top of Page

  Ecolog Network