June 14, 2004

Third Canadian Environment Awards winners honoured

The third annual Canadian Environment Awards Community Awards were presented to the gold and silver award recipients in a ceremony held at Spruce Meadows, in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. The winners were chosen by a panel of environmental experts from more than 140 nominations submitted by the Canadian public. This national program celebrates the commitment of Canadians who are acting locally to help protect, preserve and restore the country's environment.

The gold award recipients in each category are:

Climate Change: William Big Bull, for the Piikani Nation Weather Dancer wind turbine (Alberta);

Conservation: Bill Turner, of The Land Conservancy of British Columbia (British Columbia);

Restoration and Rehabilitation: Gary Schneider, for the Macphail Woods Ecological Forestry Project (Prince Edward Island);

Environmental Health: CAW Windsor Regional Environment Council, the auto workers environmental action group (Ontario);

Sustainable Living: Harrop-Procter Watershed Protection Society, for its community ecosystem-based forestry project (British Columbia); and

Environmental Learning: Joan Carne and Louise Towell, of the Stream of Dreams Murals Society (British Columbia).

Silver awards were presented to:

Climate Change: Science North, in Sudbury, Ont for its Climate Change show;

Conservation: Eliza Olson, of the Burns Bog Conservation Society, Delta, British Columbia, and the Yellowstone-to-Yukon wildland corridor conservation initiative, Canmore, Alberta;

Restoration and Rehabilitation: Sackville Rivers Association, a river restoration society in Sackville, Nova Scotia, and the Save Our Seine river protection society in Winnipeg, Manitoba;

Environmental Health: Bruce Walker, research director for the Montreal-based environmental group STOP, and Maisie Shiell, a uranium mining activist based in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan;

Sustainable Living: the Westmorland-Albert Solid Waste Corporation, of Moncton, New Brunswick, for its waste diversion program, and the Falls Brook Centre model sustainable community in Knowlesville, New Brunswick; and

Environmental Learning: the RAPPEL shoreline protection organization, in Sherbrooke, Quebec, and the Campus Calgary Bird School's ecological learning centre in Calgary, Alberta.

Federal Environment Minister David Anderson and Shell Canada president and CEO Linda Cook presented each gold recipient with a cheque for $5,000, which the winners will donate to the environmental cause of their choice. All silver and gold award recipients received a plaque from Canada Post featuring a recent stamp series which commemorates the wildlife art of John James Audubon.

The keynote address was delivered by World Wildlife Fund Canada executive director and president Monte Hummel, recipient of the Canadian Environment Awards Citation of Lifetime Achievement.

The Canadian Environment Awards comprises three environmental programs: Community Awards, Citation of Lifetime Achievement and The Green Team Challenge, the youth component of the program. Supported by 14 Canadian corporations, the Awards represent a partnership between the federal government and Canadian Geographic Enterprises, which is the managing partner and publisher of the digest-sized awards magazine. Details, including photographs of the presentation ceremony, may be viewed on the Canadian Geographic Web site, www.canadiangeographic.ca/cea2004

Table of Contents  | Top of Page

  Ecolog Network