February 2, 2004

People (February 02, 2004)

A Cabinet shuffle in British Columbia last week saw Bill Barisoff named the new Minister of Water, Land and Air Protection, replacing Joyce Murray who was appointed Minister of Management Services. Barisoff was previously Minister of Provincial Revenue and has served in several critic roles since he was first elected in 1996. George Abbott took over from Stan Hagen as Minister of Sustainable Resource Management, while Hagen became Minister of Human Resources. Abbott was previously Minister of Community, Aboriginal and Women's Services and was deputy chair of the province's Select Standing Committee on Forests, Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources. Richard Neufeld and Mike de Jong have retained their posts as Ministers of Energy and Mines and of Forests, respectively.

Dr Marlo Raynolds has been appointed the new executive director of the Pembina Institute for Appropriate Development, effective February 1, 2004. Affiliated with the Calgary-based Institute since 1995, he has for the past four years carried out senior management responsibilities while leading its work in providing research and development services to private sector corporations, government agencies, First Nations, public interest groups and non-government organizations. Tom Marr-Laing, who was acting executive director for the past four months, assumes the position of policy director.

The members of two expert committees dedicated to source water protection in Ontario have been appointed; the creation of the committees was announced last November by provincial Environment Minister Leona Dombrowsky (ELW November 24, 2003).

The 16-member Technical Expert Committee will provide advice on a process for assessing threats to sources of drinking water in Ontario. Among its areas of focus will be categorization of threats to water, linking groundwater protection to surface water management, and effects of water-takings on the availability and quality of drinking water. The committee will be co-chaired by Gayle Wood, chief administrative officer of the Lake Simcoe Conservation Authority, and Joan Andrew, assistant deputy minister for the Ministry of Environment's environmental sciences and standards division. The other appointees are:

Michael Brodsky, former chief of environmental microbiology with the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care and an expert in bacterial indicator organisms and pathogens in food and water;

Robert Clay, manager of Ducks Unlimited Canada's Habitat Conservation Program;

Marg Evans, a senior policy planner with the Oxford County planning department who led the development of the county's wellhead protection program;

Dr John FitzGibbon, director of the University of Guelph's School of Rural Planning and Development and chair of the Ontario Farm Environmental Coalition Steering Committee;

Dr Michael Goss, a professor in the University of Guelph's Department of Land Resources Science.

H James Hawken, mayor of the city of Temiskaming Shores and a professional engineer with expertise in both drinking water provision and sewage treatment;

Eric Hodgins, a manager for the Region of Waterloo in charge of implementing the source water protection program for the region's municipal water supply system;

Steve Holysh, a hydrogeologist currently working with the Conservation Authorities Moraine Coalition;

Dr Douglas Joy, a researcher who led the establishment of the Ontario Rural Wastewater Centre;

Dr K Bruce MacDonald, a retired scientist from Agriculture Canada with experience in evaluating risks to water resources from rural and agricultural land use activities;

Dr Ronald Pushchak, a professor in Ryerson University's School of Occupational Health with a joint appointment in the School of Urban and Regional Planning;

Dr Michel Robin, of the University of Ottawa, whose research focuses on wellhead protection, modeling soil conductivity, and dynamics of fractured bedrock.

Dr David Rudolph, an associate professor in the University of Waterloo's Department of Earth Sciences and an expert in groundwater flow who has worked on the protection of regional aquifer systems in urban areas; and

Dr David Sharpe, a geologist affiliated with the Geological Survey of Canada who was involved in the geological/hydrogeological characterization the Oak Ridges Moraine.

The 21 members of the Implementation Committee will advise the government on how best to implement watershed protection strategies. It will also examine innovative funding mechanisms and incentives. The co-chairs are Nigel Bellchamber, general manager of the Ontario Municipal Administrators' Association and a 25-year veteran of local government, and Doug Barnes, assistant deputy minister of the Ministry of Environment's Integrated Environmental Planning Division. Also named are:

Juli Abouchar, an environmental lawyer with the Toronto firm of Willms & Shier who served as assistant commission counsel to the Walkerton Inquiry;

JS (Jim) Anderson, a policy and program advisor with Ducks Unlimited Canada (Ontario region);

David Armitage, a senior researcher in the Ontario Federation of Agriculture, with responsibility for managing issues pertaining to agriculture and the environment;

Milena Avramovi, a land use planner and senior policy advisor with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO).

Ted Boadway, the Ontario Medical Association's executive director of health policy, who leads the OMA's continuing work to ensure drinking water safety;

Allen Gardiner, of the Ontario Federation of Agriculture's executive committee;

Michael Garrett, chief administrative officer of York Region and a former assistant deputy minister in the Ministry of Natural Resources;

Richard D. Hunter, general manager of Conservation Ontario, a non-governmental organization representing a network of Ontario's 36 conservation authorities;

Derrick Kamanga, quality assurance engineer with the Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corporation, who represents the Chiefs of Ontario, a co-ordinating body for 131 First Nation communities in Ontario;

Peter Krause, chairman of Conservation Ontario and the Grand River Conservation Authority;

Tim Lotimer, a geoscientist, founder and president of the consulting firm Lotowater, and chair of the Ontario Water Works Association's Source Water Protection Committee;

John Maaskant, chair of the Ontario Farm Animal Council, a coalition of farm animal and poultry organizations dealing with animal welfare and environmental issues;

Theresa McClenaghan, an environmental lawyer with 17 years experience, both in private practice and with the Canadian Environmental Law Association (CELA);

Earl Morwood, executive director of the Ontario Ground Water Association;

Jim Pine, chief administrative officer of the County of Hastings and a former regional director with the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing;

Patrick Reid, president of the Ontario Mining Association, whose 48 members are committed to environmentally responsible mineral resource exploration, production and processing;

Neil Rodgers, president of the Urban Development Institute (UDI), whose more than 300 members include land developers, builders, land use and environmental planners, investors, financial institutions, engineers, lawyers, environmental scientists, economists, marketing and research firms and architects;

Dr Gordon Surgeoner, a University of Guelph professor who is president of Ontario Agri-Food Technologies and chair of the Environmental Farm Plan process for the past five years; and

Peter White, environment and resources manager for the Aggregate Producers' Association of Ontario (APAO), which represents more than 230 businesses in the aggregate industry in Ontario.

Table of Contents  | Top of Page

Ecolog Network